top of page

Impressions of Virginia: Dave's Barn

Our trip out to King George came about as my husband and I were out visiting Dave one day and I mentioned that I would like to paint his barn sometime. Since I knew Dawn was documenting old barns through photography, I asked if she would like to come out with me, there were a couple of other barns on a neighboring property we could also look at. Of course she jumped at the chance and so we made a plan.



Dave's Barn

© Laural Koons


Dave’s barn sits on a property of around 150 acres in King George Virginia and was purchased by his parents sometime before 1973. They built a nice brick home and used part of the property as a hay business. Sometime in the 70’s Dave’s sister, not unlike most young girls, fell in love with horses and so a barn was built. After the children were grown and gone, the horse barn became a hay storage barn and continued in that capacity until recently. It's not a fancy barn, it's a sturdy serviceable barn with its own character. When you look around it, you see pieces of their past life interwoven with the present. Wash Tubs, antlers and tools still hang on the walls. The property was recently sold and so time marches on. I hope that the new family who has taken stewardship will cherish the property as much as Dave did.


Want to know more about Laural and Dawn's impressions of Dave's Barn and see the resulting artwork in person? Come to the Opening Night of their exhibit "Impressions of Virginia" on December 10th, 2021 at Dockside Realty in Colonial Beach, VA.



bottom of page